Description of Patricia’s efforts in grassroots organizing which led to a tree sit

I am very grateful that Anita Schnee could be there from the beginning of the tree sit. I am reminded that I do have quite a few talents and a lot of persistence so I want to help all the great things that are already happening in the animal welfare movement be even more effective. That is what I am good at.

Patricia Mikkelson's Life Journey

I met Ms. Mikkelson over a year ago, when, as a lawyer, I was called on to mediate diverse grassroots resistance to an unlawful development project in Fayetteville, Arkansas, where she and I live. I myself, hindered by circumstances to do any more than the briefest community work, would be greatly reassured to know that Patricia Mikkelson would be doing the same thing for the Arctic Refuge as she did for Fayetteville

Patricia sparked the resistance movement at its beginning stages. It was she who began organizing against the city’s connivance at tree-preservation ordinance violations in favor of a huge mall development. The resistance grew to include tree-sit action and substantial civil disobedience of over twenty people.

Through a protracted and tense summer and at great personal cost, Patricia applied her considerable talents wherever she was needed. She initiated and participated in email bulletin boards and chat-lists that were vital…

View original post 249 more words

Leave a Reply

