This Is How I Want to Lead…Like Jesus

This article, Jesus, CEO of the World, inspires me to study Jesus leadership style and emulate it. Reading this both encouraged me and challenged me. In some ways, I already have some of the qualities that are described. In other ways, especially following God’s lead and not pushing things too fast, I often fail. If you read this article, you will know how I want to lead as the coordinator of Jesus Vegans Project.

I have been a leader since I became Treasurer of the Associated Student Body in the 9th grade. Maybe I was a leader before that, but that is when I first remember being able and willing to step into the role. I do remember growing up feeling very shy, but something happened to me to awaken me to what I now see is my destiny–to be a servant leader.

I have done my best as a leader, which includes being a mom, to be a servant leader, respectful of those who are under my influence. Authoritarian parenting and leadership is something I abhorred from an early age. I remember even at the young age of 10 thinking, “I don’t want to have kids because I don’t want to boss them around like my parents boss me around.” I hadn’t experienced any other kind of parenting, so I was pretty discouraged.

When I was in the 8th grade, I was selling soft drinks during some kind of sporting event. As a lowly member of the Refreshment Committee, I perceived that I could set the cups out the way that I saw fit. Bruce, president of the ASB, ordered me to put the cups another way. I did not like his demands, and I yelled at him when he did not retreat. I got fired from the refreshment committee, and I vowed that I would do two things:

  • I would get into a place of power and leadership where I could have more control.
  • I would never treat anyone like Bruce treated me. I would respect their creativity and judgment and do my best not to micro-manage.

I have learned more from leaders I have served under how not to lead. Sadly, I have experienced few leaders who are facilitating those they lead in ways that really work. I’ve read lots of books, studied Nonviolent communication, and simply treat others as I would like to be treated. I continue to learn how to lead effectively, and feel hopeful that with the article that I just read, which inspires me to lead like Jesus did, I can be the leader I have always wanted to be.

I define leadership as being an effective facilitator who can empower and inspire others to be effective leader/facilitators. I am so happy that my children are leader/facilitators. I feel overjoyed that there are an increasing number of people who are drawn to Jesus Vegans Project who feel nurtured by my leadership. Barbara Hulley, co-founder of Jesus Vegans Project, has been immensely inspiring and encouraging to help me continually refine my role as a leader.

I have learned from Sociocracy 3.0 that everyone can be a leader in their own right, and that it is even possible not to need to identify a coordinator of a group because of the way that the structure is set up so that an organization can really flow effortlessly and efficiently. I dream that some day Jesus Vegans Project will be in such a flow, and I won’t have the name of coordinator because we are all coordinating our part of the beautiful community and project that we are joyfully and best suited for. And we are working together as one, lead by the Holy Spirit, connecting to the Father, walking side by side with Jesus–who is ultimately our CEO.

Leave a Reply

