“Wellspring Community moves forward” Some Jesus Vegans Project History

I love looking back at how my family was so receptive to helping me meet my needs for community. Even though now my daughter is married and living about 45 minutes away, she still wants to be involved. Chris is engaged to be married in Spring of 2017, is planning on building his house near Cliff’s. They still are figuring out what part they will play in Jesus Vegans Project…but they definitely are supportive and will be great neighbors at very least! So here is some history….

…………………..

I think last night was a historic occasion for our Wellspring Community. It was also my birthday.  The best thing I could imagine doing on my birthday is to get Robert, Cliff, Chris,  Mahriyanna and I together to share dinner and talk about how to move forward.

One of the things we thought was important was to decide how we could state how we perceive reality.  The closest thing we have come to is the ReKnew Manifesto http://reknew.org/2012/07/a-reknew-manifesto/  We have all read this and we are going to continue to talk about this.

We also decided that in addition to being a community, we are going to be a house church and start meeting for worship, prayer, testimonies, bible study and discussion of (for now) Greg Boyd‘s sermon series called Imagining Prayer. http://whchurch.org/sermons-media/sermon/imagining-prayer  We want to encourage each other more in being disciples of Jesus, and a small group is so great for that.

We are in the process of developing some guidelines for how we do meetings. We decided to use consensus to make decisions that affect the whole group. We’ll be discussing more specifically what does affect the whole group.  And we are exploring the possibility of having an over night retreat.  I feel so encouraged and hopeful knowing that things that are really important to me are also important to my community.

I have tried to create communities and organizations in the past with people who disappointed me.  I’m sure I disappointed them as well.  All have floundered and failed no matter how much work I would put in to them.  I am so pleased to see that with a minimal amount of work and encouragement plus lots of prayer that Wellspring Community can come to agreement on important issues in a meeting lasting only about 1 1/2 hours.

I am in a stage of my life where prayer , scripture study and memorization, silence, fasting, and studying the giants of my faith like Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Greg Boyd and Dallas Willard,  are taking a high priority in my life.  I am so happy that at last I can understand and embrace what Jesus said: “Seek ye first the kingdom of God and all these things will be added unto you.”  Leaving home for a mere month to visit intentional communities where people are really focused on being disciples of Jesus helped me immensely. If any of you are reading this, I hope you feel encouraged to know what a difference you made in my life.

I think my community senses a difference in me and thus are more receptive.  I’m not so driven to achieve certain goals or attached to outcomes. What is more important to me is our healthy relationships and encouraging each other in our spiritual growth.   I thank God for progress that is not from my striving.  God and I are co-creating what his will for us all. Praise God!

Leave a Reply

